Return to Our Awards

Calyx Honoris

The Order of the Calyx Honoris
(Badge image created by Lord Kieran Blake)

Second Constitution for the Order of the Calyx Honoris:
I. There shall exist in the Barony of the Citadel of the Southern Pass an award, known as the Order of the Calyx Honoris, which may be given by the Coronet, subject to the pleasure of the Crown, to those persons who have demonstrated chivalry and honor in the medieval ideals of the Society.

II. The holders of the award shall be styled as Companions of the Calyx Honoris and shall be entitled to place the initials C.C.H. after their names.

III. The insignia of the order shall consist of a medallion bearing the registered badge of the Order: Azure, a chalice argent between two piles inverted Or.

IV. Arms and Precedence

A. The award shall carry with it, subject to the pleasure of the Crown, an Award of Arms. Companions of the order shall take precedence after principality orders but before a simple Award of Arms.

B. If the award is given to a person who bears an award carrying higher precedence than given above, his/her precedence shall remain unchanged.

C. If the award is given to a person who has previously received an Award of Arms, his/her precedence shall date from his/her election to the Order.

V. Amendments to this constitution shall be made by the Coronet after due consultation with the Crown.

VI. The companionship of all previous recipients of the Order is hereby confirmed.

First Constitution:

By our hands this 17h day of June, A.S. XXIII, being 1988 in the Common Era.

Rutor, Baron Morgana, Baroness

Christopher, Rex Cymber, Regina

Erasimierz Waspanieski, White Stag Principal Herald)

By our hands this 24th day of May, A.S. XXXIII, being 1998 in the Common Era

Berold, Baron Eirianedd, Baroness

Hrothgar II, King Madigan, Queen

Pendar the Bard, White Stag Principal Herald
History of the Order:

When the Order was originally confirmed, the Barony was three years and eight months old. The original constitution has in its’ wording the insignia of the Order being ‘subject to the approval of the SCA College of Arms’. The badge for the Order was approved on 30 December 1989 during the reign of Rutor & Morgana, a year and a half after the original constitution was signed.

This constitution, like the three before it, specified that recipients must already be armigers. This was the only Order created during the reign of Rutor and Morgana.

The second constitution written for the Order was done during the Baronial Reign of Berold and Eirianedd (she whom we all know now as Bahiyyah). During this time all of the Constitutions of the Baronial Orders to date were re-written to bring them up to date as far as heraldry and precedential position were concerned. The second constitution includes the approved badge of the Order.

The Calyx Honoris is the Latin translation for “Chalice of Honor”. Our Barony’s main charge on the Baronial Arms is a chalice and the charge on the badge of the Order is taken from that.

The main charge of the badge was a simple chalice but on many a medallion, banner and other piece of Baronial regalia the chalice which has been used is a stylized version utilizing a Stag’s head incorporated in the stem created by Baron Conrade years ago.

The Calyx Honoris is usually but not always given only once a year. This makes it a somewhat prestigious honor to be presented by the Coronet. There have only been two instances where more than one Calyx was presented in a given year. The first happened during Rutor and Morgana’s reign and the second during Berold and Bahiyyah’s reign.

The Premier of the Order was Lord Gareth of Gryphon’s Nest and his induction took place on August 6th, 1988. His induction happened one year and four months before the badge of the Order was passed. The next inductee was Lord Edrik Beroldsson, again before the badge was passed. The first member of the Order to receive admittance after the badge was passed was Lady Sidonia of Seven Oaks on the 30th of January 1990, one month to the day after the badge was passed.

[Link] to the most current listing of the members of the order.

Leave a Reply